YSR Congress conquers Kovur

Sweet Victory for Prasanna

Nallapureddy Prasanna Kumar Reddy won in Kovur comfortably, giving the expected buoyancy to YSR Congress Party.

Kovuru  Majority :  23,490

YSR CP           73,870

TDP                 50,380

CONG              41,307

YSR Congress Party secured a majority of 23,490 votes. TDP gave a good fight,while Congress managed to get a respectable number of votes.

This is the YSR Congress Party’s first real victory, since the Kadapa by-polls (for both Assembly and Parliament) was treated as a foregone conclusion as the district was YS family fiefdom.

Since Kovur is outside YSR family’s traditional ambit, the by-polls here was widely seen as a litmus test to Jagan Mohan Reddy’s political future.

The three-cornered contest witnessed the most combative and intense campaign the constituency ever had.

TDP senior leader Somireddy Chandramohana Reddy and Srinivasa Reddy of Congress gave a tough fight to YSR Congress Party.

Nallapureddy  had resigned as MLA after quitting TDP and joining YSR Congress Party.  It was a do-or-die battle for YSR Congress Party chief Jagan Mohan Reddy  who spent seven days in this constituency campaigning in the scorching sun for his candidate.

Prasanna won this seat in 1993, 1994, 1999 and 2009 elections as TDP candidate. Prasanna won the last elections with just 6,500 votes margin. PRP, which was in contest in 2009, secured 22, 624 votes.

2009 Election Results:

S.No. Candidate Name Party Symbol Gender Age Votes Polled Vote %
1 Nallapareddy Prasanna Kumar Reddy TDP  * Bicycle M 46 73212 43.32%
2 Polamreddy Sreenivasulu Reddy INC  * Hand M 52 65768 38.91%
3 Mannepalli Nageswara Rao BSP  * Elephant M 57 1614 0.95%
4 Chinni Venkateswarlu PPOI  * Television M 57 869 0.51%
5 Chenukula Sudhakar LSP  * Whistle M 53 1379 0.82%
6 Tupakula Munemma PRAP  * Railway Engine F 26 22624 13.39%
7 Manda Ravi TPPP  * Gas Stove M 38 390 0.23%
8 Gubba Suresh IND  * Battery Torch M 33 382 0.23%
9 Talari Vijayamma IND  * Glass Tumbler F 39 671 0.4%
10 Tupakula Raghu IND  * Road Roller M 37 1207 0.71%
11 Tupakula Srinivasulu IND  * Diesel Pump M 34 893 0.53%